New Blog Name, com Domain and a New Header

Blog

I’ve been searching for a new blog name for a while now, almost since I exported my blog to WordPress from Blogger. It used to have the name “Slithzerai’s Place” which is more generic and common than you can imagine. I wanted to find a blog name that primarily has the following properties:

  1. Shortness: Less than 10 letters or around 2 words.
  2. Pronouncability: It should be easy to pronounce the name of the website. This in turn helps:
  3. Memorizability: I thought about continuing to use my nickname as a website and domain name but I imagine it is hardly memorizable for people seeing it once or twice (Slithzerai).
  4. Describability: A name that can explain what this website is all about.
  5. Domain: The .com domain of the name should be free.

So, summing it up, I needed a name that is short, pronounceable, memorizable and describable. Which means the name will have a small ratio of number of letters to describability as possible, without sacrificing the other points. I have used the following domain name search tools in order to find a name:

  1. Wordoid: Great tool for searching a domain name, generates readable domain names that optionally contain a word or two of your choice. It also lets you know if the domain is already taken or not (with occasional mistakes)
  2. Domize: Another good tool for searching a domain name, however it makes you do all the imagining.
  3. I have also used other domain name search tools such as Nameboy, however none of them were as useful as the first one. That being said, I came up with the current name myself.

After days of thinking about a new name (and seeing that each short cool domain I though of were already registered) I came up with the current name of the website. “Code” since I’m a software engineer and “elk” since there are some elks here in Sweden that you see sometimes (though usually only their tracks). After some thinking I got the corresponding domain, minus one letter, since I think it looks a lot cooler.

For the final touch, I made a simple new header using Pixlr in which I tried to describe what the name means graphically. Any recommendations are welcome.

2 thoughts on “New Blog Name, com Domain and a New Header

Leave a Reply

