My Top 10 Most-Played Songs In The Last 5 Years

Music

Last.fm is great. It is a music website that allows you to scrobble your played tracks in various music players either with the music player itself or by a plugin. This enables you to check which songs you’ve previously listened to and see various charts after some time.

I have scrobbled in Last.fm for exactly 1800 days today (4 years, 11 months and 4 days, not including today). Even though I wasn’t able to scrobble the tracks I’ve listened to with my portable music player, I scrobbled over 84 thousand tracks that I listened to using my computers. And now, the time for some statistics has arrived. Or, you know, a list of 10 songs. For starters.

  1. Radiohead – No Surprises: A whopping 501 plays of this marvelous song, great lyrics and melody. I used to listen to this song for hours.
  2. Lily Allen – Littlest Things: Another song that I used to listen to repeatedly. Calming with nice lyrics that can bring up a variety of moods. 185 plays.
  3. Depeche Mode – Enjoy the Silence: I most sincerely believe that this song needs no explanation. 146 plays of awesomeness.
  4. Jimi Hendrix – Little Wing: This song has such a good intro that it blows me away anytime I hear it. Also its guitar solo. Also its lyrics. You get the idea. 135 plays.
  5. Air – Cherry Blossom Girl: A song that I’ve listened to so many times that I can’t listen to it as often anymore, so I didn’t link to the normal version. Still, a pretty addictive and magical song of its time. 122 plays.
  6. George Baker Selection – Little Green Bag: Great old song that is pretty much synonymous with the movie Reservoir Dogs of Tarantino, obviously. Highly repeatable and more addictive than most songs on this list. 120 plays.
  7. Coldplay – Don’t Panic: Another calming song filled with happiness indeed. And inscribed in large friendly letters. 112 plays.
  8. Yelle – Je Veux Te Voir: Great French song that I still listen quite often now. Pretty good for running or exercising. Also 112 plays.
  9. Queen – Don’t Stop Me Now: Awesome uplifting song from Freddie, not to mention addictive. Probably listened to it a lot more after hearing it in a Shaun of the Dead scene which was immensely funny. 105 plays.
  10. The Proclaimers – (I’m Gonna Be) 500 Miles: Great song that I discovered in the TV series How I Met Your Mother, where it is proved to be the greatest driving song ever in more than one episode. 103 plays. probably 5 at a time, and then 3. It’s that addictive.
Hope you enjoyed this list as much as I enjoyed putting it together. You can also visit my Last.fm profile to see what other free stuff I have there. You can also make a list of your own and make me know about it. Hurray!
5 thoughts on “My Top 10 Most-Played Songs In The Last 5 Years

    1. Yes, you should. It’s lots of fun and you can make scientific charts like this :P ^^ You said your plugin didn’t work, which music player are you using?

      And yea :) I looked for a collection of those scenes with that song in Youtube but I guess they keep removing them, so that was the best video I could find ^^

  1. I love that Proclaimers song. I have sung it many times at karaoke. I even rewrote the lyrics one time over at 43Things to acknowledge having hit a specific number of cheers given.

    I had never heard that Yelle song and have always been looking for new running songs. Thanks for cluing me into it.

Leave a Reply

